Cipriano F. Hernandez

September 26th, 1919 to April 30th, 2021

Cipriano F. Hernandez Sr., 101, of Port Huron, died Friday, April 30, 2021.

He was born September 26, 1919 in Hearne, TX to the late Apolonio and Trinidad Hernandez. He married Zenaida Velquio on March 11, 1945. She preceded him in death on February 3, 1991 after 45 years of marriage.

Cipriano came to Port Huron as a migrant worker in 1946 and has resided here ever since. He was employed at Mueller Brass Company for 37 ½ years until his retirement in 1982, and was a member of the Quarter Century Club. He was a former member of Our Lady of Guadalupe Mission and its men’s club and a member of UAW Local 44.

He is survived by six daughters, Francisca (Juan) Balderas, Marie Marthen, Olga (Curtis) Morris, Juanita "Janie" (Tom) Wehrwein, Velia (Eric) Pattison, Rosa Moreno (Kevin Collins); five sons, Jose Angel (Aurora) Hernandez, Cypriano "Skip" (Linda) Hernandez Jr., Ricardo "Rico" (Debbie) Hernandez, Oscar (Tanya) Hernandez, Miguel Hernandez (Jan MacRae); 50 grandchildren; 80 great grandchildren; and 28 great-great grandchildren. He was preceded in death by daughters, Lupe Gomez, Judy Hernandez and Trinidad Torres; grandsons, Christopher Pattison and Steven Carl Gossman; sons-in-law, David Gossman, Eladio Torres, Edward Marthen and John Moreno; brothers, Eduvigues and Juan Hernandez; and sisters, Socorro Hernandez, Maria Delaluz, Julia Villa and Elena Poncno.

Visitation will be held from 2-7p.m. on Thursday in Karrer-Simpson Funeral Home. A limited number of people will be allowed in at a time. Please wear a mask for the safety and comfort of others. A private family Rosary will be held at 7:00 p.m. Friends and family are welcome to view the Rosary on Cipriano’s obituary page on the funeral home website.

A Funeral Mass will be held at 11:00 a.m. Friday, May 7, 2021 in Holy Trinity Parish St. Stephen Catholic Church. The Reverend Joseph Gagnon will officiate.

Burial will be in Mt. Hope Cemetery, Port Huron. Pallbearers will be Miguel Hernandez, Curtis Morris, Ricardo Hernandez Jr., Steven Hernandez, Michael Lee Hernandez, Jason Eagen, Nicholas Hernandez and Leif Wehrwein. Honorary pallbearer will be Juan R. Moreno.

Memorial contributions may be made to the family.

To send condolences, visit


No Upcoming Events

Document Actions